Something New: Backpacking

Last weekend I didn’t shower, ate carbs for all three meals and carried at least 20 pounds on my back. I went backpacking.

The group standing on the trail with packs

Because it was my first time backpacking (I’m the one with the purple pack!), I decided to create a short video to capture all my experiences and share them with you! In it you’ll see some great footage like waking up to the remnants of Hurricane Matthew, playing in stacked hammocks, a salamander cameo and a beautiful overlook.

Okay so a quick disclaimer: I didn’t backpack in Ohio, I actually went to the Allegheny National Forest in Sheffield, Pennsylvania. It was about a three hour car ride from Kent- so although it was technically outside my home state, it was still a realistic trip when it came to distance and price.

I went on this trip through Kent State’s Adventure Center, which is where I worked during the summer. In addition to it being a great weekend with a couple of my summer coworkers, the trip cost $40 which included travel, food and gear- that was a deal I couldn’t pass up!

Twelve people went on the trip including myself. Three of my summer coworkers were our trip leaders and the only experienced backpackers on the trip! So I wasn’t the only one trying something new.

Fall hillside at Minister Valley Overlook

Are you ready for a unique adventure too? Great! The Adventure Center has a running list of other great trip opportunities, both overnight and day trips. Check their program site for more details.

2 thoughts on “Something New: Backpacking

  1. Haley! I didn’t know you were going to the ANF! I would’ve recommended some really cool waterfalls and places to check out! I guess we’ll have to make another trip out there 🙂 and soon!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

